Activist Mommy











{July 23, 2007}   Hungry? How about some brownies?

My super yummy vegan brownie recipe is being featured over at Living Without Meat right now. Go on, you know you want to check it out. The recipe won me a copy of David Kamp’s “The United States of Arugula: The Sun-Dried, Cold-Pressed, Dark-Roasted, Extra Virgin Story of the American Food Revolution”. There are still a few copies left, so get your recipe in too.

*edit*

I didn’t expect so many people to dig my brownies! Suddenly I’m finding links from everyone thanks to this recipe. LOL So I thought I would add it here too.

Activist Mommy’s Vegan Brownies

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
4 tablespoons cocoa
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup vegan sugar
2 bananas
1/4 cup applesauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour into a lightly greased 8×8 pan. Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

Some people thought they were a bit too mushy, I say cut back on the applesauce to help. The original recipe that was given to me has 3 eggs in it but no bananas or applesauce so this is the result of me playing around with it to make them eggs-free.
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

add to sk*rt

[...]   I’m a foodie I can’t believe how many people have come here looking for my vegan black bean brownies. You people are some brownie loving fools. And I mean that in the best way possible. Say it with me [...]



[...] made a vegan black bean brownie and smothered raspberry sauce between two layers.  the brownie is really mushy (and therefore hard [...]



Tracy says:

Hi Activist Mommy,

As I’m in the UK, I just wanted to check what size your cans of black beans are, so I don’t fluff the brownie recipe. Most of our cans are 400g. Does that sound right to you?

Love your blog, am going to subscribe to the feed now.

Tracy



activistmommy says:

Tracy, I use a 15 ounce can of beans. I think 15 ounces is about 420g. :)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

