Activist Mommy











{June 26, 2007}   I’m no Skinny Bitch

SkinnyBitchI read a post about the book Skinny Bitch over at Veggie Chic and immediately knew I had to buy it. Number one, with a name like that you just can’t go wrong. There are plenty of people who are the “skinny bitch”, and plenty who want to be. And even more who could care less and wish the stereotype would go away. Personally I’m pleasantly plump. During my first pregnancy I gained far too much weight, a two-hit combo of quitting smoking and morning sickness that only stayed away so long as my stomach was full. In other words I was constantly eating.

But the book is more than just a great title. It is a healthy eating book that promotes veganism. and it is written by models. I am sure that it is just the stereotype getting in the way, but when I see the words models and skinny together healthy is the last word I expect to see joining them. So I thought before i put down good money I would check out the website. SkinnyBitch: The Official Website 

Rory Freedman, a former agent for Ford Models, is a self-taught know-it-all.

Kim Barnouin is a former model who holds a Masters of Science degree in Holistic Nutrition.

OK, so they might be knowledgable in good health. And it has praise from Ingrid Newkirk, the President of PETA, and Amy Joy Lanou, Ph.D., Senior Nutrition Scientist of the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine.  And, well, as much as I love my round hips I wouldn’t mind losing the tummy pooch. Or at least gbetting it down to a reasonable level, as in not sticking out of my shirt. Though my sons say they love to cuddle mommy because I’m squishy, I don’t want to be the next person getting a letter from PETA like Michael Moore did.


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

add to sk*rt

Leave a Reply

et cetera
