Activist Mommy











{July 27, 2007}   I’m a foodie

I can’t believe how many people have come here looking for my vegan black bean brownies. You people are some brownie loving fools. And I mean that in the best way possible. Say it with me now “Mmmm, chocolate….”

I planned to get a picture of my tomato sauce to share but my camera was being a pain and not wanting to hold a charge. It is about 3 years old now so I suppose in digital camera time it’s ancient. I’ve been holding on to it, but the picture quality seems to be going down and the batteries seem to only last a few minutes. Even with new batteries in it. It was a cheap camera anyway, so I’m not too upset. Except that I can’t share the picture of my beautiful sauce simmering on the stove. You’ll just have to use your imagination. And to help I’ll share my recipe.

First I used real tomatos instead of canned sauce. About 5 or 6 big fat beauties was enough for us. I peeled the skins off, sliced them in half, and removed the seeds. Then wrapped them in kitchen towels and gave them a light squeeze. (Hint, to get the skins off easier my grandmother taught me to boil them for a minute then toss them into some ice water until they are cool enough to touch) I leave them wrapped in the towel until I’m ready for them. Now for the rest of the ingredients:

  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1-2 shredded carrots
  • 1 tablespoon Italian spice blend (my herb garden was destroyed by cats this year so I had to use the bottled kind)
  • anything else you like to add

Put the tomatos and the spices in a big pot, bring to a boil then let simmer. While the tomatos are simmering in a seperate pan saute the garlic and onion in a bit of olive oil until soft. Stir in the onion and garlic then the shredded carrots into the tomato sauce. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 3 hours.

That’s the basic recipe. When Activist Daddy makes it he adds in mushroom and celery, but I tend to leave them out. And when we’re having a kid’s free dinner we’ll add in a cup to a cup and a half of red wine.


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

add to sk*rt

[…] without a spaghetti recipe? Unthinkable. Here’s Activist Mommy’s recipe for veggie spaghetti sauce. She starts with tomatoes, not a can […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
