Activist Mommy











{August 16, 2007}   Eight Things You Always Wanted To know About Me

I was tagged by Isil of Veggie Way to share 8 random things about myself. I’m not sure I’m interesting enough to write 8 things, but I’ll give it a go.

  1.  I had completely natural birth with both my kids and recommend them for everyone. It’s not as bad as everyone says, especially if you jsut relax and let go. And the healing time is so much quicker.
  2. I love to eat Boca burgers on wheat bun with a spoonful of salsa. I could eat an entire box if I didn’t stop myself.
  3. Activist daddy and I are happily unmarried and staying that way.
  4. I never expected to have sons. Honestly I had planned for girls and had so many ideas of all the thigns I would teach them. But being in a house full of guys has been more fun than I ever expected.
  5. When I get stressed I get flakey and tend to hide out until I’m feeling calmer.
  6. We homeschool. I made the choice after reading Dumbing Us Down. We don’t do it to remove kids from society, we do it because we feel that society does not exsist inside four walls filled with kids and 1 adult.
  7. We’re a mixed lot food wise. I don’t eat meat, dad always eats meat, and the kids eat whatever we’re having. I try to limit their meat consuption a lot, but some days it’s hard to get them to eat veggies when dad is eating a steak and fries and nothing else.
  8. I’m a feminist. But a lot of my choices puts me in areas with people who are anti-feminist. So I’ve learned to bite my tongue in real life, then let it fly at the computer. I never expected that choosing to stay home would somehow make me seem safe to talk about the ‘dangers of feminism”. They always seem so shocked when I disagree.

Now to tags some who haven’t done this yet: Living Without Meat, Nature Mom’s Blog, A Brain Like Mine
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

add to sk*rt

Tiffany says:

Cool! Thanks for the tag. 🙂



It’s hard to find things to write about yourself, isn’t it!

I know what you mean about the stay at home thing, I stay at home and people often make comments, like they think it’s the 1950’s in my house! They way I look at it, by staying at home we are not turning our backs on all the women and men who fought for women’s rights, we are exercising our hard-won right to choose how we want to raise our families, be that staying at home or going out to work. And then we can let fly at the computer…



Catherine says:

You know, I never expected to have boys either. My mom had four girls. It seemed normal to have girls. I have two sons three biological nephews.

Anyway, I enjoy your blog. Keep up the good blogging.



[…] was tagged for the 8 Things About Me meme again, this time by Activist Mommy. Remember the last eight things I told you about? Well, I do love to talk so it is not hard […]



Isil says:

thanks for playing along!It’s nice to learn more about you, feel the same about being a SAHM.



valiens says:

I think I did this in a previous meme incarnation as Pieces of Eight, and not long ago. So that means eight more things. Give me a couple of days, but I’m in!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
